top of page




On September 6, 2017, the CIAAA and the family of Canadian Athletic Directors lost an incredible man when Dave Rozdeba passed away after a courageous battle with cancer.

Dave dedicated his life to the betterment of all those around him, and his involvement with the CIAAA was no different. Beginning as a founding member of Alberta's AIAAA, which evolved into the CIAAA, Dave also wrote Leadership Training Courses for the CIAAA and was an impactful instructor for the Leadership Training Program. Accordingly, he served as the Leadership Training Program Coordinator and was a crucial part of the discussions that led to our affiliation with the Master's Degree in Athletic Administration at Grace College.

Beyond his official contributions, Dave was always the first to welcome any and everyone into his inner circle. At CIAAA conferences and events, Dave would actively seek out newer attendees and ensure they were welcomed and included at every turn. In coaching and overseeing his school athletic programs, Dave let character and sportsmanship lead the way. 

Dave's strengths and values are recognized as key items in the criteria for this award, which serves to ensure that Dave is always remembered by Athletic Directors across Canada.

The Dave Rozdeba Memorial Award will be given to an Athletic Director who:

  • Is a member of the CIAAA

  •  Has a minimum of 5 years experience as an Athletic Director in a Canadian High School

  • Embodies the strengths and values that Dave exemplified in all areas of his life: integrity, accountability, honesty, humility, kindness, ethical leadership, and sportsmanship

  • Advocates for, and empowers student athletes and others in the sporting community

  • Promotes a character-based athletics program through proactive and visionary leadership

  • Influences the landscape of educational athletics by engaging others in the profession


Past Recipients

  • 2023: Darryl Boudreau - Bluefield High School (PEI) & Rick Thiessen - MEI Schools (BC)

  • 2020: Joe Petrone - Bishop O'Byrne High School (AB)

  • 2019: Mike Myndio - Chinook High School (AB)

bottom of page